The Lord is my shepherd.

9ec046bb99b660aaa7b34ede60673410

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. (Psalm 23:1)

Such simple words, but God used them to show me, with Him I have no need to want anything. As Max Lucado put it, “David has found the pasture where discontent goes to die. It’s as if he is saying, what I have in God is greater than what I don’t have in life.” It’s so easy to look at what we don’t have instead of remembering what we do have. You see, when we remember who He is, then we can remember what we have. When we say, Lord, You are my shepherd, You’re not only all I need but You’re all I want, then we too can find the pasture where discontent is laid to rest. Where we find, He is so much more than we ever imagined.

These past few weeks He’s really shown me that He’s my provider, He can and will take care of me. He doesn’t stop the storms, He guides me through them. He doesn’t clear the uncertainties right away, He shows me I can trust Him with them, because to Him, nothing is uncertain. He also told me, rather bluntly, that my heart belongs to Him first and foremost, He doesn’t share the top spot. He really asks for all or nothing. And it’s in the surrender we find freedom. We find that life is a beautiful gift to be enjoyed with Him. We find that The Lord is our shepherd and we shall not be wanting.

2 thoughts on “The Lord is my shepherd.

Leave a Reply

